New to HiDef, and looking for advice

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm considering a purchase of a HiDef TV, but I'm a bit out of the loop as to the state of the tech, and was hoping that someone could offer advice.

I've been running a 32" Sony Wega CRT for about 6 years, and I'm very happy with it. Unfortunately, due to a room layout change the TV is now against a flat wall (instead of a corner), so its 60cm depth is a bit intrusive.

The change also means I'll be sitting 3-4m away, instead of 2-3m, so I'm tempted by a 40-42" set.

I'd like to go for a Full HD unit, as it would be nice to be able to use it as a monitor on occasion, and eventually I'd like to set up a PC with a Blu-Ray drive, and use it as a hidef player (and possibly recorder).

For the moment, I'd mainly be feeding it SD DVD images (probably via HDMI) and Freeview (via RGB SCART from a Topfield PVR).

I've seen a lot of discussion about the Panasonic TH-42PZ85B, almost all of it very positive - particularly noting that it does a good job of SD material. Given that I'll be sitting a good distance from the screen, how could I expect it to compare to the Sony? Is it just a case that the larger screen shows the Freeview artifacts more obviously, or is the resolution scaling an issue?

Also recommended to me have been the 40" Samsung LE40A656A and the Toshiba 40ZF355DB. Both are LCD (vs Plasma for the Panasonic). I see the Samsung has had a 5 star review on this site. Does anyone have experience of these sets, and how they may compare with the Pana?

Many thanks!

SpiceWeasel

Apr 10, 2008
Visit site
Hi there , I have the 42"PZ85 and it's an excellent tv. I upgraded from a 7-8 year old 32"Pany quintrix crt. I sit about 3m away from mine and sd looks very good, I would say the picture is as good and maybe even slightly better than my old crt. The only time you notice a drop in quality on sd is if you get closer than 6ft.