New to forum...needing some AV advice

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hey guys,

Im kinda new to the whole home cinema set up, but i have recently bought a new house, and thought it might be a good idea to get ahead of the game with a system before i complete the decorating! lol

So, onto where i have got to so far...first off i looked into getting an all in one surround sound set, but after a chat with a friend whho is an AV engineer, i've decided to go down the seperate set up using an AV receiver and purchasing speakers etc seperatley.

Now, i am working to a pretty tight budget, and as i'm fairly 'sound quality inexperienced' (i.e never really notice the difference between a £1000 speaker set and £100 set!) im not really that bothered about the most amazing quality sound.

However, due to my delvings into what AV receiver to get, i have now decided to get myself a bigger and better tv
emotion-2.gif
So, onto what i have decided to get so far:

AV Receiver: Sony ST-DGR820B (Seems fairly good for what i need for a great price)

TV: Sony KDL40W4000U (This seemed pretty good for what you get)

HDD/DVD Recorder: Sony RDR-HXD890 (This is to replace my ageing Pioneer kit. And thinking keep it all sony as they'll keep it Simple/Stupid.

Gaming: Xbox 360 Elite (this i already own)

HD Tv: Sky+ HD (Id read there were problems with this using the AV receiver above, but i gather its all sorted now)

Not sure what you guys will think of my choices so far, but for the price im paying, this seems to be a good deal for Sony stuff.

My dilema now is how to finish it off...namely, what speakers to get. This is where i'm completely lost. And as im already spending a fair chunk on replacing items, i was kinda hoping this area would be at the cheaper end of the scale!! Hence why i have now come to you guys for some help.