my first hifi (the ebay way)

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
up until a month ago i was very happy with my bose companion 5 system and playin music through my laptop, then my brother (hoggers on this forum) brought come new gear for his hifi and i realised just how much better sound a hifi was producing compared to the laptop speakers.

so i decided to take the plunge into the world of seperates. being a complete novice i decided to have a read around (mainly on this forum) and try to educate myself in what is a very complicated field. after a bit of a read around i decided i could get a much better sytem by buying well second hand than i could afford off the shelf.

i decided i wanted a cd player, amp and some bookshelf speakers and had set a budget of £400 (a pretty tight budget. ok so this is what i ended up doing with my money.

the amp

after a little look around i settled for a mainly cambridge audio based system as there product are very well priced. after loosing a few auctions on ebay i finally brought an azur 540a setting me back only £90 seemed a steal to me. the amp was in really good condition and i had a good starting point to form the rest of my system around.

the cdp

sticking with the CA theme i brought (again on ebay) an azur 640c for £105. again this was in really good nick and came with the original box.

speakers and stands

now the speakers was not somewhere i wanted to skimp on quality. so after a massive session reading around i set my heart on some Dali lektor 2's. i thought that the small design would be perfect for my small bedroom. after waiting for a week i finally brought the lektor 2's for £135. not sure if thats a good price or not but there wasnt many for sale and i had my heart set on them. as for the stands my brother very kindly donated some atacama nexus to the cause (cheers bruv).

cables