How many employed design engineers read /post

SteveR750

Given this forum is the "What car" of hi fi threads, I'm curious if any "real" engineers, those that are actually employed or qualified as acoustic engineers ever post in these forums? Retailers don't count, no matter how clever tou think you are, and nor do manic hobbyists (I tried that many many years ago at a job interview at Wharfedale). Real (non flat earth) experts, please stand up.

hg

Feb 14, 2014
Visit site
I am an acoustical engineer who occassionally reads this forum to see some of the extraordinary things audiophiles believe about audio hardware, sound and sound perception. I have not recognised anyone with a similar background apart from a chap from KEF. The few times I have introduced the odd fact on the subject it has, not unexpectedly, fallen on rather stoney ground.

SteveR750

HG I suspect you're right, but it's a shame you don't post more often, just a bit of proper science reference amongst the white noise of poorly researched opinion would be welcome. Where did you study it? Many years ago now I wanted to go to Southampton Uni to study physics with acoustics, and I think also that Salford was runing a similar course. Sadly my maths wasn't up to A level standard so never got in! I did go to Wharfedale and also to Arcam for job interviews also many many years ago, but they wanted electrical engineers, not materials scientists.

hg

Feb 14, 2014
Visit site
SteveR750 said:
HG I suspect you're right, but it's a shame you don't post more often, just a bit of proper science reference amongst the white noise of poorly researched opinion would be welcome.

Not sure I would agree about the welcome. The community here have a set of beliefs about hi-fi much of which is based on a faith that I do not share. I have no interest in changing that faith although I am curious at times about what supports it.

SteveR750 said:
Where did you study it?

ISVR in Southampton and ITA in Berlin.

Native_bon