Question HIFI Newb in need of help . . .

robbjoseph81

Jan 5, 2020
Visit site
Good afternoon. I am new to the HIFI world and admittedly have much to learn. I just made a large investment (~$35K) into the AV setup for my new house (See below) and want to educate myself on the best possible ways to utilize the new setup.

One of the questions I have is around DAC’s and Audio Streaming. I plan on using Tidal for my Audio Streaming (Unless there is a better-quality option out there). I believe the DAC in the Receiver (ESS 9026PRO) should be able to handle the files, but am not sure the best way to send them to the Receiver (ex. Bluetooth, wireless, wired, etc.) from my devices (ex. iPhone, Computer, Apple TV, Sonos Port, etc.). What is the best way to listen to their highest quality files (Masters / MQA)?

Regarding the Receiver DAC (ESS 9026PRO), is this something I can upgrade at some point if I wanted to, say for example to the ES9038PRO? If I could upgrade it, would there be a notable improvement to the sound quality?

Would you make any changes or improvements to the items below? I still have time to make modifications before they install everything in February.

Any guidance or knowledge you can share would be most appreciated.

Thank you!

Robb

AV Setup

• Receiver – ARCAM AVR30
  • Amplifier – ARCAM PA720
  • Power Conditioner – FURMAN IT-REF-20I
  • Towers – REVEL F228Be
  • Center – REVEL C426Be
  • Ceiling (6) – REVEL C763L
  • Subs (2) – SVS SB16-Ultra
  • TV – LG OLED77C9PUB
  • Blu-ray – Sony UBPX800M2
  • Streamer – Apple TV 4K
  • Wireless Speaker Connectivity – Sonos Port
  • Remote – Harmony Elite
  • Tower Cables – AudioQuest Rocket 33 10ft
  • Center Cable – AudioQuest Rocket 33 5ft
  • Sub Cables – AudioQuest Irish Red 10ft
  • Amplifier Cables (3) – AudioQuest Golden Gate 3ft
  • Blu-ray Cable – Ethereal MHY-LHDME2 6ft
  • Streamer Cable – AudioQuest 5ft