Hifi hotspots

sjorswi

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
Hello everybody!

I am a student working on a assignment for an company that sells speakers. They've asked me to find out where they can best produce a new type of speaker they are going to make. Maybe you know where the 'Hifi hotspots' are in Europe? Which country's are leading in Hifi technology? And maybe you've got some sources for me to check things out.

Thank you for the effort!

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
Or you could go for a mix.

British design, scandinavian drivers, manufactured in China, thereby cashing in on British design exoertise (e.g. some Japanese companies use British speaker designers), the technical quality of scandinavian driver manufacturers such as SEAS and the price advantages of production in the far East.

No specific sources, but if you start doing searches by country searching for speakers, drivers, etc. you should be able to get some ideas. Some companies that make speakers will also sell drivers for other companies to use in their designs.

matt49

Apr 7, 2013
Visit site
The centre of loudspeaker manufacturing is in the southern Cotswolds: AE in Cirencester, ATC in Stroud, and a couple of blokes in a shed in Nailsworth. :shifty:

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Possibly:

- Britain for good traditional engineering and craftmanship.

- Italy for style and beauty.

- France for innovative, quirky engineering.

- China for value, as a manufacturing base.

- Scandinavia for high quality, cleanly designed, no nonsense speakers.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
sjorswi said:
They've asked me to find out where they can best produce a new type of speaker they are going to make.