Help a beginner! With PC audio

letsavit2

Jul 25, 2013
Visit site
Have a large iTunes collection, mostly at 192, Then put what ever tunes I can fit onto my i things and steam my music to my hifi's via AXP,s, easy and sounds pretty good.

Now looking at possibly using my new windows 8 based laptop as a more serious source, do I start running another iTunes in parallel and ripping lossless then get say the dragon fly USB thingy and connect it to my main hifi directy. Or should I be looking at some other better software and format for this?

Rob.S.Esquire

Mar 21, 2013
Visit site
For a 'more serious source' from a digital music collection stored on a computer you will want to get some decent software to partner with a decent DAC. iTunes just does not cut it as a serious music player and instead, for a PC based solution, you will probably want to look at J River Media Centre or equivalent.

I have been useing J River for many years and it is both an excellant tool for ripping and managing digital media and does a great job of ensuring bit perfect playback of audio. FLAC is in my opinion the best choice for storing audio and it is easy to get a perfect copy of a CD with good software.

I just recently upgraded my DAC to an AudioQuest Dragonfly 1.2 and I have been extremely pleased with the change compared to the Arcam rPac and Xonar Essence STX. Very worthwhile getting a decent 3.5mm to RCA cable for it to really shine, or if you have good quality stereo RCA leads just get the AudioQuest 'Hard Mini' 3.5mm to RCA adapater.

pauln

Feb 26, 2008
Visit site
Yes I agree, Foobar will do the job just fine. USB out to an E-DAC (on sale currently at £89.99) then RCA from that to your amp. Easy.

And you don't need to spend more than £5 on the RCA cable either. Fisual Pro Install Series 1m is £4.99.

jjbomber

letsavit2 said: