First turntable setup advice

SVTillman

Apr 28, 2014
Visit site
Hi

Been wanting to get into vinyl for a while now but as a recently graduated student financial restrictions have hindered me. I have been reading through what hi-fi but still not sure exactly what kit I need exactly (I am a total novice!) from what I gather I need a turntable,amplifier and speakers. Really looking at getting decent entry level gear,so been looking at "what hi-if awards 2013" but I don't know if the parts are compatible. I'll be buying via amazon.

pro-ject essential II turntable

Marantz pm6005 (integrated amplifier with digital input....whatever that means)

Q2020i speakers

along with some cables (help here please) would this setup be a good start?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum.

Well I hope you have some money now as getting into vinyl isn't cheap. :)

Your selected components should go together well but it is preferable to try and audition first, get it wrong and it isn't going to sound good at all.

You need to see if the speakers are OK in the room you will set up the hifi in. Can you give us some sort of idea s to room size / shape and how far youwould be able to set up the speakers away from a rear wall?

Simply picking from a 'best of' list does not necessarily mean items will suit each other but in many cases this is exactly what people do and then wonder where it all went wrong.

I would strongly suggest you find a dealer in your area and go and listen to some set-ups but go with a fixed budget in mind, and don't let them get you to spend a penny more. :grin:

Your amp is a good choice as it has an inbuilt phono stage to plug your turntable into. The digital in part means it has a built in DAC as well so you can utilise the amp with older CD players the internal DACs of which might be somwhat lacking compared to modern equivalents.

Read the posts on here regards speaker cables, if you dare. :shifty:

Basically any good quaity muli-strand copper cable will do you for now.