Disappointing first hifi experience!

muziclover

Jan 13, 2014
Visit site
I am a brand new member, just ventured into hifi teritorry. I usually listen to soft music but also listen to rock, classical and a wide variety of other genres. I do enjoy bass tones in music (even in the soft ones!). Being an absolute newbie, I was aiming for the mid-range system recommended by what hifi i.e. Arcam fmj A19 + Audiolab 8200CD + Tannoy Revolution DC6T SE. I went for a demo at Richer sounds. I was told that the Audiolab 8200CD would be quite 'bright' and may not be to my liking. I listened to Arcam fmj A19 + Arcam CD17 (+ Tannoy Rev DC6T SE or Dali Zensor 7) vs Marantz CD6005 + Marantz PM6005 but indeed found the Marantz quite bright compared to the Arcam combination. I must admit that I found the Arcam amp + CD player with the Tannoys the most soothing and balanced to listen to. I however was still disappointed with the bass performance! Finally, reliant upon numerous good reviews and forum reads, I took the daring step of parting with a significant sum of money and bought the ARCAM fmj A19 amp, ARCAM CD17 CD player and Tannoy Rev DC6T SE from Richer sounds.

My lounge is 21 feet by 14 feet and the only way I could place the speakers is along the length. I am still finding the system lacking in bass tones and I must admit that even after spending so much, I am still a bit disappointed! (started thinking, should I have bought a cheaper all in all system or mini hifi system and it would have sounded the same!) I would be extremely grateful if anybody kindly gives me some suggestions about the following:

1. Is the performance sub-optimal due to the size of the room? I am of course going to try different speaker positions.

2. Would the addition of a subwoofer improve the bass performance? (The Arcam fmj A19 has amp out). If so, which one would be the best match (sub £500, preferably £200-£300) with this system?