Building a Cyrus-based system - speaker advice required!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all - this is my first time on the forum, so be gentle...!

Late last year I finally started to try seriously upgrading my 10 year old system (Rotel RCD-971 CD player, Rotel RA-971 amp, and supplemented by Wharfdale Diamond 9.1s when my KEF floorstanding were damaged during a house move).

Having subscribed to What Hi-Fi again, I was bitten by the upgrade bug - but one that's had to be very much on a budget. I have been reasonably lucky on ebay, having picked up a Cyrus CD8 for £170 and an 8vs for £300 - both offering immediate improvements. What I'm looking for advice on is suitable speakers to partner them with, probably in the £4-500 mark; either floorstanders or bookshelf speakers will do. I like a reasonably detailed sound (hence preference for Cyrus) but want something with a bit of drive and verve as well (but don't we all).

As a side issue, I also picked up a Chord Chameleon Silver Plus 0.5 cable for £45 to replace my ten year old Talk cable (unfortunately I don't know what model it was - it's purple and I was told it was around £50). However I've been slightly non-plussed as doing a like-for-like comparison I can tell absolutely no difference at all. I'm either a cloth-eared nincompoop...or is it that the 9.1s are just totally unable to deliver the refinement from the rest of the set-up. Can some one help/reassure me on this???