Arcam Amplifier feet

clifford

Jan 28, 2015
Visit site
Hi there

I'm putting together my first system, I'm pretty new to this and dont have much knowledge or experience.

So far I have an Arcam Alpha II amp, a Rotel RT-850AL tuner and my cousin is thoughtfully giving me his old spakers which are B&W DM110i.

Everything is in good working order and nice and clean, however the Arcam amp is missing one rubber foot on the front right meaning it wont sit. At the moment I have put a book under there, which I guess is not ideal.

Can someone clarify to me how important the rubber feet are on an amp if at all? and if so recommend me some replacements? They sit in a long grove spanning the amp that is around 11mm wide so the feet couldnt be any wider than that. I was thinking to take off the other three and then replace them all, but with what?

any help is greatly appreciated. I'm in the UK.

Cheers

andyjm

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
Sticky rubber feet are available from the usual component suppliers, Maplin, RS, Farnell, plus all sorts on ebay. Google is your friend.

As a general rule, feet are there to allow air to flow around and into the amp to aid cooling, and to stop it scratching your table.

There are a fair number of 'coupling' and 'isolation' products available which appeal to the snake oil sector of the market. I would suggest you avoid unless you amplifier is microphonic (which is very unlikely).

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Well, there are manufacturer that seem to think otherwise, Naim being one with their 'loosely coupled' circuitboards and power inlet sockets, Arcam with their damping compounds on capacitors plus others.

Not sure about it and it is not much understood whether microphony affects solid state (it certainly does valves but even there detractors argue that if that was the case early cruise missiles wouldn't have flown).