Another Request for Help!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all

Think I am in the right forum here. Basically Ive been persuaded that the best option for me is to ditch the cd player plans and to stick with a good amp and a system to utilise my digital library in its full (DAC and wireless streaming).

I am a heavy iTunes, iPhone, Last.FM and Spotify user so looking for some sort of system that will get me the best out of that and some advice in general would be most appreciated. Id also prefer not to have the laptop on all the time to access music so a NAS thing (novice here) would be a preferred option too. After taking the amp into account I prob have about £500 tops to take care of all of this.

So, would the Airport Express or Squeezebox Duet suit me best? With the potential for Spotify through the Squeezebox in the near future I suppose that would suit but Im not entirely sure. The iPhone as a controller sounds great but Id still need the pc to access my Spotify playlists (I am a premium user not that it helps much!).

I prefer the DACMagic with its better connectivity options (for any future upgrades/additions) too. As far as NASs go I havent a clue. Could something like the HDX 1000 offer me PCless streaming via the Squeezebox? Would also be handy for storing all my movies/tv programmes. Id prefer not to go down the Apple TV route - not enough storage and file types are limited.

The DAC plus Squeezebox would zap most of my budget but it would be great if someone could at least tell me an easy system for accessing my tunes without the laptop being on.

As always, all help greatly appreciated!

A

Anonymous