Another ADM9T Review

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
I'm not very good at subjective reviews, so I'll try to be as meaningful as possible. Firstly, I'd like to say that I didn't buy the AVI ADM9Ts expecting them to be leaps and bounds ahead of the Dynaudio BM5As, in fact, I don't know at his level what would constitute a large step up anyway if we are to confine the comparisons to speakers with 6" drivers and similar cabinet sizes.

The ADMs look very nice and the finish and build quality seems very good, they are clearly very well put together. The gloss finish is preferable to me over the black ash of the Dyns and the addition of the grills is a must with small children around. Other big bonuses are the remote and the means to remove another box in the equipment stakes.
All in all, these benefits to me, are worth the price differential alone and it needs to be born in mind that my system was part second hand and part heavily discounted from new. Like for like, a new Dacmagic + and BM5A MkII setup would be almost on a par with the ADM9RS for price.

The two speakers are very similar in size.

Now for the sound.

I have listened to a range of music now, the latest tracks were

Ed Allyne-Johnson - Oxford Suite Pt III
Pendulum - Slam
Eagles - No More Walks In The Woods
Mazzy Star - Into Dust

It was immediately obvious that the presentation of the two pairs of speakers was different.