Alternatives for Marantz CR502 & Monitor Audio Silver RX1

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm looking for a decent hifi sound without roomfilling seperates and I have got my eye on the Marantz CR502 in combination with the Monitor Audio Silver RX1. I have already listened to the combination and, for the money, really like the sound, as well as the looks of both. The idea is to connect a Blu-ray player as well, since I'm not really into 5.1 systems.

However, I'm no expert on the matter and the stores I have been to had little to compare it to within the same price category. Anyone any alternatives I should look at?

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

Hi Glenmo, and welcome to the forums.

Would you consider second hand? This maybe a bit different suggestion, but just yesterday I happened to listen to a NAD L53 from a few years back. It's a 'normal size' reciever, but it comes with a good 2-channel amp, a dvd-player that doubles as a decent cdp and an AM/FM tuner. Works ok for dvd-movies (although the fake surround is not that impressive) and believe it or not, it's really a pretty good stereo set. It also looks well... erm... interesting to my eyes, but I've heard people describe it as beautiful. I heard it with Klipsch RB51 (good), but pair it with any decent budget speaker to your liking and you're done.

Jack

Gopi

Nov 19, 2007
Visit site
Glenmo,

Currently a problem with good all in one systems are
that you might only get them with DVD player in them and not a Blu Ray player.
But then soon you will find more of them coming in. If you are going to
pair a Blu Ray player (a good one) with Marantz CR502, you can consider
Marantz upcoming ER803. Essentially its a similar model to CR502 but
with a blu ray player. But it is expected to cost close to 1000 pounds.