Alternative to Graham Slee Novo?

Paulq

Dec 2, 2007
Visit site
I've been using the above for a couple of years and whilst it's very capable I find it to render a lot of the music I listen to overly bright. I tend to listen to rock/prog and when using Denon AH-D7000 and B&W P7 the treble becomes overly harsh, not something I experience with the same headphones when using them through MacBook Pro with Meridian Explorer.

Has anyone recommendations for a slightly warmer, bass friendly headphone amp?

Thanks in advance.

dalethorn

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
You're probably getting a compounded effect with the headphones - first, the headphones don't soften the sound like speakers do in a listening room, and second, those headphones have an uneven treble that exaggerate problems unpredictably. The Sennheiser Momentum should be a much better choice.

Paulq

Dec 2, 2007
Visit site
Are There not amps that will mitigate that surely? The Novo appears to have a reputation for accentuating the top end so maybe there are amps which don't?

For some reason 've never been a fan of Sennheiser but in fairness have never heard the Momentums.

dalethorn

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
hybridauth_Facebook_100000759563588 said:
....however, I think the headphone accounts for 90% of the sound. I think Beyerdynamic DT990s or Audio-Technica ATH-M50 may soften the treble a little. *secret*

Both DT990 and M50 have peaky treble.

eggontoast

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
dalethorn said:
....however, I think the headphone accounts for 90% of the sound. I think Beyerdynamic DT990s or Audio-Technica ATH-M50 may soften the treble a little. *secret*

Both DT990 and M50 have peaky treble.

As opposed to the Sennheiser Momentums which have rolled off treble & bass, they are a distinct backward step from the OP's current headphones.

OP you could also consider a Lehmann Rhinelander.

Paulq

Dec 2, 2007
Visit site
eggontoast said: