Visit site
help.gif

A

Anonymous

Hi and best wishes to all.

Please bear with me, I'm a newbie!!!

I put my music collection on an iPod Touch
and want to use it in a dock connecting to
my Bose Acoustimass speakers (about 10 years old).

The quality docks seem to need a DAC for best performance.

My question is this:

If I put my Ipod in a dock, connected to a good DAC
and connect that to the speakers, am I done?

I can't figure whether I also need an amp or not.

Any advice very welcome.

Many thanks and best wishes

Jim

gregvet

Dec 24, 2008
Visit site
Most docks cannot be used with a dac, as the Digital to Analogue Conversion happens in the ipod itself. So with a standard dock, you would attach the analogue outputs to an amp, and use this to drive the speakers.

Some docks take the digital signal from the ipod, and then can feed this to a separate dac. The onkyo and wadia ones are the only ones like this that I know of, but i am sure there are plenty of others. The potential is there for better sound quality with these, as the dac in the ipod is ok but not amazing.

Either way you will need an amp, and which way is better is probably dictated by your budget, and what you are trying to achieve.

Strictly speaking you dont even need a dock, you can just use one of these

Phono Cable

And attach it to any amp of your choice.

A

Anonymous

Hi friend!

Very many thanks.

This is exactly the info I needed, and very clearly explained.

Much appreciated!

I'm away to the shops!

Very kind wishes

Jim

A

Anonymous

Hi gregvet

I promised I'd report back on my selection.

In truth, I'd also welcome comments or criticisms too!

I haven't yet bought anything as the room I'll be using it in is not yet ready.

Added to this, money is fairly limited.

My listening will be entirely from iPod, so I thought I'd
get a good quality dock going to a good DAC and then to a good integrated amp.

Financially, it's probably a bit too much for me, so I thought