What power amp should i get to drive my M&K s150thx?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all my dearest friends, i need you guys help again this time. I just sold my Monitor Audio Radius Hd speakers and bought a set of M&K S150 thx speakers. I trying to sell my Pioneer SC-lx71 to get

1) Emotiva UMC-1 (processor)

2) XPA-2 2 channel 4ohms 500rms each(drive my 2 front s150 speakers)

3) XPA-5 5 channel 4ohms 300rms each(drive the rest including sub)

OR if i cant sell my Pioneer receiver i will Bi-amp the power amp to my current pioneer lx71,

1) Pioneer SC-lx71 (precessor)(BI-amp)

2) XPA-2 2 channel to drive my two front s150

3) XPA-3 3 channel to drive my center and 2xss150 surround speakers

4) Leave my subwoofer to my pioneer receiver.

What do you guys think of these setup?...im quite new to bi-amp not sure how does it work or will it give a good performance? So really need your assistant. Many thanks.

And another question, I have just called to pioneer UK and ask them will my pioneer SC-LX71 drive my M&K speakers(not bi-amp) and they say that because it is 4ohms speakers so it would damage my receiver in a long term use. Really giving me headache.

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
Your S150's will be single wired, so you won't be able to bi-amp them as such.

As far as the Pioneer is concerned, it depends on how loud you want to play them - are you looking for extended Reference Level listening? If you only reach about -20dB (give or take 5dB), you'll be more than fine with the Pioneer. I use an 82, mine are fine.

I can't comment on the Emotiva, but they should be able to drive the MK's fine.

Technical helplines will usually go by spec, but specs are generally pretty meaningless when you're out in the field. Technical helplines have their place, but when it comes to matching up with other speakers and so on, speak to those who actually use the stuff, day in, day out
emotion-1.gif

Chewy

Feb 10, 2010
Visit site
garychf: