Want to improve my setup

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all

Im a newbie here. I used to be quite happy to listen to my mp3 collection via my amp and speakers. I have an old NAD stereo amp, model 3020a, and a pair of Aural Envelope ex300 speakers. It is clearly a budget setup, having cost about £90 so far. I'm happy with the power of the amp and speakers, now I'm just worried about how Im getting the mp3 signal to the amp. At the moment im using a 3.5mm audio cable from the onboard souncard which splits into left and right RCA plugs which then go into the Amp. But after hearing a guy the other day going on about DACs and his Apple TV or something, I'm starting to think maybe I should think about sorting out my link from PC to amp. Can anyone reccommend anything? I,m never going to be a full on audiophile because I dont think I could afford it. I was considering a soundcard with optical outs, and then connect that to a digital to analogue converter?Or pick a receiver/amp with optical inputs?

AL13N

Nov 29, 2009
Visit site
No need for a new soundcard or receiver/amp. Purchase the Musical Fidelity V-DAC online for less than £150. Then connect your PC via the USB input. Sorted.

If you don't hear an improvement then return it. If you do notice an improvement... enjoy the music.

mcjwalters

Apr 19, 2008
Visit site
As you seam to be using mp3 IMO any money spent trying to get good sound from this massively compressed file storage is a waste. Your amp is a classic and very nice in it's day, the speakers are not known to me so the type of file you record and listen to is the very weak link.
If you are happy then just enjoy what you have and plan upgrades one at a time as and when you can afford it.