Total newbie, £500, utter confusion.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone,

Looking for some advice on getting started please.

I recently heard a high-end iPod dock (B&W Zeppelin) in a store and began to realise what I’ve been missing out on. I’ve never owned any decent audio gear and am totally new to the vocabulary, equipment and so on. I considered buying the Zeppelin but figured that for £400 I might as well invest in something a bit more flexible than a dedicated iPod dock. So I think I’m looking for a pair of loudspeakers and a box thing (amp, dac, something like that).

I’ve read through a bunch of reviews here and have scanned dozens of threads on the forum and I’m totally confused. Please help me narrow down my options. Here are my parameters.

Budget:
£400 up to an absolute maximum of £600. And that’s really pushing the boat out.

Source:
I’ll be using my laptop or ipod/iphone and mp3 music (I know, I know! One step at a time!). In fact, it would be best if I could bypass the laptop entirely (if it’s turned off or busy doing something else). Maybe I could just use my ipod, or even copy my music to a dedicated hard drive? In the future it would be useful if I could use the same system as part of a home cinema too, but I don’t know how that would work. First I’d need to buy a TV I suppose. A DAB radio would be a bonus too!

Environment:
This will be used in a medium-sized double bedroom but could be transferred to a medium-sized lounge room in the future. I will never be using it at a high volume because of the neighbours (their bedroom is on the other side of my bedroom wall). The speakers will have to fit on bookshelves, near the wall, maybe wall-mounted etc. The room is cluttered and very ‘lived-in’. Generally it will be used at a low volume.

Musical tastes: