Speaker Quality

SJProctor

Nov 2, 2015
Visit site
Hi,

I have recently bought a new set-up but the quality from the speakers is poor (volume fine) and I wondered if anyone had any tips as I am pretty new to some of this.

The system I have is:

Gemtune SMSL SA-50 (Amp)

Pro-Ject Essential 2 (Turntable)

Wharfdale Diamond 9.1 (Speakers)

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM (Pre-amp)

I dont know if something is afaulty (everything is new) although thsi is a possibility - My sense is that I just need to twaek something to improve the quality (it sounds like I have a blanket over the speakers at the moment!)

Any help is greatly appreciated.

gasolin

SJProctor said:
Hi,

I have recently bought a new set-up but the quality from the speakers is poor (volume fine) and I wondered if anyone had any tips as I am pretty new to some of this.

The system I have is:

Gemtune SMSL SA-50 (Amp)

I dont know if something is afaulty (everything is new) although thsi is a possibility - My sense is that I just need to twaek something to improve the quality (it sounds like I have a blanket over the speakers at the moment!)

The only thing i can think of is that you bought a cheap rubbish amp, why would you use a below 50£ amp with a good TT and speakers, if the amp hade a phono input would you have bought a phono,riaa box?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gemtune-SA-50-Amplifier-Adapter-Standard/dp/B00KBIV1WW

Why buy a phono,riaa box that costs almost the same as your amp ?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Project-Phono-Turntable-Pre-Amplifier-Black/dp/B00KWTJZGY/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1446465963&sr=1-2&keywords=Pro-Ject+Phono+Box+MM

You would have gotten something better buy not buying the project phono box and gemtune amp and then have bought something like a used marantz Pm6004/6005 or the new best amp up to 200£ in 2015 onky a-9010

What kind of cables are you using ?

slice

Oct 7, 2012
Visit site
SJProctor said:
Hi,

The system I have is:

Gemtune SMSL SA-50 (Amp)