Pioneer HiFi : Why is it sidelined?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

Anton90125

Sep 1, 2007
Visit site
[quote user="Leonard Hatred"]The top three are *drumroll*
1) Audiolab 8000A- would rather listen to the cooker they stole the knobs off
2) The aforementioned Pioneer A400
3) NAD 3020. A reasonable budget amp. Not a giantkiller and cure for the worlds ills that some would have you believe.[/quote]

I am a bit suprised by your top 3 overhyped amps. I don't know the pioneer A400 that well, but I remember the Audiolab when it first came out. It was like a breath of fresh air compared to the competitors at that time. it buried my NAD 3140 in about 3 seconds (which is why I bought an audiolab) I only changed it when I got a SH LUXMAN L100.

I never had the NAD 3020 but my mate (when I was a student in halls of residence Coventry ) did. He used to blast out Black Sabbath through his LS3/5a using his Dual 506 TT and it sounded wonderful. For £89 the NAD buried everything around it. The next recommended amp (when upgrading from the NAD ) from that era A & R A60 which was smooth and detailed but lacked the raw grunt the NAD had.

I remember when Pioneer made equipment of beauty (and a little awe) see:
http://www.stereomanuals.com/images/rick_system_24.jpg
http://www.stereomanuals.com/about/cool-pictures/index.htm
http://www.stereomanuals.com/images/special/rick_system_28.jpg

A

Anonymous