Optimal viewing distance at around 3.3 metres - 47in or 50in plasma or LCD full hd?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello

I want to get a new TV and '5.1 home cinema in a box' for a new house. I'm quite new to all this. The lounge is quite long so I have worked out the viewing distance will be around 3.3m with a TV mounted on the wall (blank wall, plenty of space) to where the sofa has to go. I have just signed up to Virgin and I would like a blu-ray player and to watch more films. I will however be watching SD TV most of the time .. like most of us??? I have read conflicting and confusing info about what size screen I should be getting and ensuring I don't see any pixels etc and that the full HD TV I get can downscale to SD or upscale or something?? I also don't know whether to go for plasma or LCD. I read plasma running costs are high and that some manufacturers have dropped them now.

So far, I have found out the following. At that distance, I should have a 50in. So I can't find any LCDs at that size. Do they exist? So I guess I have to get a plasma then. If I get a 47in screen, I can go for LCD.

I would also like the following feature...
  • Freeview HD tuner.. in case I get fed up with Virgin or it fails..?
  • No need for Freesat
  • Screen shutdown when listening to radio.. to save costs...
I've also read it's important to have a good number of HDMI inputs/outputs?? I will have the following x-box, virgin receiver and receiver/blu-ray/dvd player from home cinema in a box. I would also like an internet connection for streaming /skype (like Sonys...) but I am confused about that because the receiver/player I will get will have ethernet connected to my router so why do I need a TV with that capability??

Many thanks for any advice offered.

simonlewis

Apr 15, 2008
Visit site
I think most, if not all plasma's are 50" LCD tends to be 52".