Newbie unsure.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Bit of an audio newbie here so bare with me. I'm currently looking at buying a Denon M39DAB microsystem for use with my laptop. I've gathered that in reality I'm going to need a DAC. The only thing is that I'm not sure which DAC, connection wise, would allow me to do all I want it to for the cheapest price? The laptop I'm using I'm pretty sure dosen't have a digital output so I'm not sure how that affects it. I'll be using my setup with my headphones quite often so while I'm not even sure if they get plugged into the stereo or the DAC I'm going to need a connection for that too. Will I need a headphone amplifier as well?

In short: Microsystem, laptop (no optical output), headphone use, DAC = how do i achieve best results cheapest?

jjbomber

Onkyo ND-S1. Use the USB (it's a digital signal) to output from the laptop to the Onkyo. Use the supplied optical lead to connect the Onkyo to the Denon. You don't need a DAC nor a headphone amp. You can try both the Denon and the laptop for headphone use. Whichever is best for YOU is the winner.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
You could use this Turtle Beach USB device to connect your laptop to the Denon. It has a combined analogue output and optical digital output, and comes complete with a miniToslink adapter, so all you need add is an optical cable to connect it to the digital in on the D-M39DAB.

It's about £20-25 from retailers such as Amazon.

image_1.jpg

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the replies, guys!

jjbomber said:
Onkyo ND-S1. Use the USB (it's a digital signal) to output from the laptop to the Onkyo. Use the supplied optical lead to connect the Onkyo to the Denon. You don't need a DAC nor a headphone amp. You can try both the Denon and the laptop for headphone use. Whichever is best for YOU is the winner.