DSD Streaming

Scooby22

Nov 1, 2023
Visit site
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and just getting into streaming properly but I don't fully understand how to achieve what I want. I hope what I am about to write makes sense.

I have a Primare Pre60 preamp and streamer and it samples up to 192khz. I use a pc to stream qobuz using WASAPI exclusive mode and it sounds great. My question is that I want to start streaming DSD files but the Primare does not support this, can I hook up a DSD capable DAC, like the Chord Hugo 2, to the Primare and if so by which method? It would need to bypass the internal DAC one assumes. I haven't been able to find any information on the net about how to do this and I've had no luck from Primare either. I'm connecting to a Primare A60 power amp which does have RCA inputs and XLR.

I'm thinking that I could also buy a dedicated streamer without a DAC and stop using my PC as I have read that a dedicated streamer would sound better and I am looking for the best I can get.

So my current set up to summarise:
PC using Qobuz WASAPI exclusive mode connected to my preamp by USB.
Primare Pre60 preamp
Primare A60 power amp
Qualio IQ open baffle speakers
WD NAS drive in RAID configuration

Any advice and guidance would be gratefully received. Thanks all.

podknocker

Don't bother, CD quality is all you'll ever need. It's more to do with the recording than the bit rate.
I would certainly agree.

The quality of the mastering, with dynamic range taken into account, is just as important as bit rate and the format used.

In an ideal world, the studio master would be transferred to CD/SACD with all the information and recording levels just as they were recorded.

This rarely happens with CDs now.

Scooby22

Nov 1, 2023
Visit site
Thanks for the info, it's come as a surprise if I'm honest, maybe I'll save my money and buy a CD player again like the Primare CD35 which can also stream for convenience. The question is will the Primare sound better than my PC?