Newbie Airport Express to Rotel RA-12 or equivalent amplifier

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello,

I am quite new to this and would appreciate some assistance.

My wife has finally allowed me to buy a proper stereo :cheer:

I have not decided yet on what components I am going to go for but I have looked at the Rotel RA-12 and plan to try it with, MA Silver RX6, Tannoy Revolution DC6T SE, and B&W CM8.

However, there are a couple of things that I still haven't got my head around. I use my computer as my main source for music through spotify. To my current system (HK AV and Kef 2005.2) I streamed the music through an Airport Express into the HK amplifier. However, since I understand there is no proper DAC (except the cheap one in the Airport Express) between the Airport Express and the amplifier I assume I don't get the best sound quality possible. So here is my question, if I connect my Airport Express into the Rotel RA-12 will the Wolfson DAC in the amplifier scale up the signal to better quality or do I need to buy an additional DAC (like the Arcam rLink) and connect the Airport express directly to the rLink through USB (if that's possible) to get the benefit of the better signal?

If it doesn't work to send the signal through the airport express, am I required to get a streamer such as the Denon DNP-720AE to be able to use spotify with good quality in my new system or connect my computer through the rLink with USB?

Any advice would be much appreciated since I don't want to spend a heap of cash on a new system if I send signals into the system that doesn't utilize the power and features of the new system.

Thanks in advance!

quadpatch

Mar 28, 2011
Visit site
Hi Narva,

If you can get the AE's digital to the Rotel that's a pretty good option as far as I can see. Try that first and see what you think. I'd imagine the rLink to only give a modest upgrade to that if anything.

A

Anonymous

Hi,