New to Vinyl, Best Budget Turntable?

bjaman

Apr 30, 2012
Visit site
Hi

As stated in the title I'm new to Vinyl and I'm looking for a decent budget turntable. It can be new or used but my budget is around £80.

Any help would be much appreciated.

PS: I know this topic has been covered but it seems like prices have risen £20 - £40 since 2010 or so!

Also I'm a student hence the tiny budget

B

BIGBERNARDBRESSLAW

bjaman said:
PS: I know this topic has been covered but it seems like prices have risen £20 - £40 since 2010 or so!

They have, I bought my Pro-Ject Debut III for £130 5 years ago, and just sold it for £170 without doing a thing to it.

For your budget, you're going to struggle to get anything that won't sound awful, second hand is the best way to go, but what you'd get for your £80 I'm really not sure.

Others maybe can give you better advice than me.

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
the OP will need to double the budget and add £50 to get the budget Rega/Project decks.

Anytihng at £80 is gonna sound pretty bad IMO

Milo_Myage

Aug 6, 2013
Visit site
I picked up my s/h Planar 2 for £90 on eBay but they normally go for much more. I just got lucky that it was collection only and very local. Still that's over budget even without the cart and belt it needed. I'd keep saving until you can afford at least double

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
image.php

Bought for £50

Regards

Jim-W

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
This is definitely worth a punt. It may go for more than £80 but you never know. Very decent sound on Revolver turntables.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REVOLVER-REBEL-TURNTABLE-HiFi-PLINTH-Record-Deck-VINTAGE-Audiophile-/111282342177?pt=UK_AudioTVElectronics_HomeAudioHiFi_Turntables&hash=item19e8f1c921

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
Al ears said:
Also agree that vinyl is no longer cheap.