NAS/NAs Ripper

Shanka

Jan 10, 2011
Visit site
Hi,

I am totally new to this so please bear with me.

I have started looking at these and noticed a large price difference between the two, is a dedicated NAS Ripper worth the extra £500 plus over a normal NAS that i guess I rip to using my laptop.
I am a bit of a technophobe so the ripper option is hugely appealing but is a large differential to pay,what are the other benefits to the ripper ?

I am also assuming that once product is on the NAS a streamer device such as MF M1 Clic just access the NAS/NAS ripper without need for the pc to be on.

I am wanting to transfer 1500-2000 cds, no photos or videos, purely audio application, I guess I will make an initial list of NAS to look at then go to a few dealers to see how much they confuse me and until I understand the ins and outs and once I understand what I am looking for then I can hopefully decide on which way to go.

Any advice hugely appreciated, I have only in the past 2 days understood what a NAS is so please be gentle.

Thanks again for anyone's time in replying

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
It doesn't look like the MF1 M1 Clic will play music from just any NAS - it needs to be a NAS which will present the music as a Media Server via some onboard software e.g. in the manual it states Windows Media Player can be used on Windows PCs and Twonky Media on Macs. It doesn't mention a NAS, but you'll need something similar running on the NAS, otherwise it won't work. These can be found - I believe Synology's NAS products offer this, as do quite a few others.

On the other hand, some streamers like the Sonos systems are able to just pickup music direct from a share on any NAS. However, you'll also get some all-in-one solutions which have built in storage and ripping facility so everything is built into one box (like the Olive O3HD). You just need to be carfeul in what components you buy to ensure it all works together.