NAS & iTunes

scene

I've got a new NAS, a readyNAS duo 2120 (see my other post for the deal available on NetGear readyNAS). Now my plan was to move my iTunes library onto it so that I could play it via my Sonos ZonePlayers. Thing is, on reading the manual, I noticed that the readyNAS can act as a iTunes server. Now is it better to move my library to the NAS, or have a shared library using the iTunes server. Is there a downside to this? I'm a bit new to this whole iTunes, nas, computer-based malarkey and I don't want to spend ages setting things up to find it's not what I want to do.
And while I'm on the subject, if I do decide just to move my iTunes library, how? I've looked online and found about three different ways of doing it [:|]

Dan Turner

Jul 9, 2007
Visit site
My NAS is an Apple Time Capsule, but I wanted a copy of my music library on it for Sonos streaming. After faffing about with having a second iTunes library with the files on the NAS for Sonos (1. so that the Sonos library on the NAS and the normal iTunes library on my Mac would act as back-up for each other 2. so that i still have the files on my computer for streaming or replay off that and for syncing with iPod/Phone and 3. so that I don't have to have the Mac on when using Sonos) I realised it was a nightmare because for some reason (not quite sure why) both libraries kept getting mixed up and it seemed that everytime I checked, the files in one library were pointing to what was supposed to be the location of the other!

In the end I sorted out the main library on the Mac and just created a copy of the files on my NAS (but did not attempt to import it as an additional library in iTunes), so now when I get a new CD or DL, I import it into my itunes library, then just copy it to my NAS.

Anyway - just be careful, it's easy to get things all mixed up when moving/copy/re-pointing itunes to a different set of files, so make sure at all stages you have a back-up copy.