mains cable

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am redecorating a room and have the oppotunity to install a dedicated mains circuit for my Hifi. Can anybody recommend a reasonably priced cable which can be used to wire from the outlets back to the consumer unit and where I may be able to obtain this. I notice Russ Andrews offer such a cable but at £42 per metre this is way outside my budget.

VoodooDoctor

Sep 23, 2007
Visit site
There have been a few arguments on here saying that expensive mains cable is a waste of money... It's a big ol' can of worms. Have you tested a mains cable with your equipment and noticed a difference, previously?

A

Anonymous

It has been suggested to me that upgrading the twin and earth mains cable to a thicker section or better still a shielded version and utilsing a dedicated supply will pay dividents but I have no actual experience of this. However, given that oppotunity exists, if it isn't going to cost the earth then I though I might take the chance. As regards main filters I have had the oppotunity to hear these and have been impressed.

VoodooDoctor

Sep 23, 2007
Visit site
I'd do some research on the topic and make your own mind up before you spend a lot of money on this. The word "Snakeoil" gets bandied around a lot. Try a reputable dealer who will blind swap/lend you the cables and see if it makes a difference. What sort of kit are you going to be running?

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
What does your common sense said about power cables? Think about it long and hard then have a demo to see if your thinking match the outcome.

A

Anonymous

The guys not talking about a power chord but his main wiring loom.I had mine done,it's all put on it's own separate spur,you don't need special cables for this,I recall mine were just 6mm cables that ran straight to the wall unit with no other appliances on the loom,definitely worthwhile.

A

Anonymous

[quote user="shanej"]