Lip Sync delay

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello there,

I’m a newbie and this is my first question - so “hello” everyone!

I wonder if I could pick your collective brains?

I have a slight lip sync delay between my Blu Ray player, Amp and LED TV (this has only recently occurred since updating my TV, as my old Samsung 23” LCD seemed to cope fine). Here is my setup:

LG 42LS570

Sony Blu Ray BSP-185

Cambridge Audio AM10

HDMI out from Sony to LG

Line Out RCA from Sony to Cambridge Audio

When I switch to the BD/DVD input on my Amp, the lip sync delay occurs. The image is behind for only a fraction of a second, but it’s certainly enough to be noticeable and therefore annoying!

I have tried tweaking the audio settings on the Sony but to no avail, as I understand these settings may be void as I believe the Cambridge Audio does not have a Dolby Decoder. Nor is this Amp an AV Receiver:

HDMI: auto DD: Dolby Digital DTS: DTS

BD audio mix to: off

Now, I understand the HDMI cable also carries the audio, so I’m assuming that the delay is occurring because of the Sony outputting dual audio source, in both analogue (to the Amp) and digital (to the TV)?

Would you suggest bypassing the Phono Out on the Sony all together and rely only on the audio from HDMI? My problem there is that the TV only has Optical Out and my amp only Phono In and I don’t want to rely on the TV speakers, nor do I want to bypass the Amp. I’m loathed to use the headphone jack out from the TV in to the Amp, so would the best work around be to buy an Optical to RCA converter? That way I could go Optical out from the TV > RCA Converter > Amp.

Or is there a better way to output audio direct from the Blu Ray in to the Amp?

Thanks in advance for you time.

blackflash52

Feb 10, 2013
Visit site