Is this common? (Should I Return this Speaker?)

Armchair

Aug 1, 2013
Visit site
I decided a while back to buy a new Hi-Fi and settled on an MCR-610 and Q Acoustics Concept 20 speakers.

The speakers arrived this morning and one of them has the tweeter pushed in slightly.

I spoke with the company where I purchased and they are willing to take a return - however, that's loads of hassle for me.

The guy I spoke to suggested that this happens very often with speakers of this type with soft tweeters and that a return was probably unneccessary and they could be fettled into perfect shape again.

What do you think - is he right?

OK_Speaker.jpg

Damaged_Speaker.jpg

Needless to say I'm new to all this so have no idea :)

richardw42

May 2, 2010
Visit site
Don't touch them. As soon as you start fiddling the retailer will not take responsibility.

The only course of action is send them back.

A friend managed to do this to the tweeters on both speakers, and made quite a good job re shaping them, but he'd done it himself and had no choice.

Crocodile

Jan 15, 2009
Visit site
Seems like Q Acoustics have some rather worrying QC issues.

http://www.whathifi.com/forum/hi-fi/would-you-ask-for-a-replacement-for-a-little-dint-in-new-speakers

Covenanter

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
richardw42 said:
Don't touch them. As soon as you start fiddling the retailer will not take responsibility.

The only course of action is send them back.

A friend managed to do this to the tweeters on both speakers, and made quite a good job re shaping them, but he'd done it himself and had no choice.

+1

floyd droid

Sep 5, 2008
Visit site
Armchair said:
The guy I spoke to suggested that this happens very often with speakers of this type with soft tweeters and that a return was probably unneccessary and they could be fettled into perfect shape again.

What do you think - is he right?