Is it worth buying a 2nd hand TT from auction ?

sthomas048

May 23, 2009
Visit site
Hello,

Yes I have sold my cd player so I can buy a TT. Ive been hankering for a TT for years and I have all this old vinyl begging to be played. I have a Musical Fidelity B200 amp which apparently has quite a good phone stage. I only have £200 to spend out of my cd player earnings however.

So my question is, is it worth buying a TT second hand off that auction site ? Can I buy anything decent for £200 ? What sort of things should I consider when buying second hand ? Im a total newbie with TTs so I dont know where to start !

I know Rega TTs are worth searching for. There are two old vintage TTs on that auction site right now - a Goldring Lenco GL78 and a Micro Seiki MR-222.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen

altruistic.lemon

Jul 25, 2011
Visit site
You'd be better off with Thorens or AR (Acoustic Research). There's a couple on there know I'd buy like a shot, were I still interested in turntables. Which, as I'm reminded, I'm not.

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
Buying s/h off auction sites is of course always a risk but it's unlikely you'll buy a dog unless the pictures show that it's obviously abused and knackered. Watch out for vague listings which say "not tested", "sold as seen": these could be genuine, but sometimes such excuses are used by unscrupulous sellers to get rid of junk without comebacks.

At the worst you might have to buy a new cartridge or stylus because one person's idea of "hardly used" can be another person's idea of "completely worn out". Same thing goes for belts on belt-drive models.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
Buy from people who...

...have owned the item since new.

...provide good quality photos of the item.

...are honest enough to point out any marks/defects (and show photos of them) so you can decide if they matter.