Integrated Amp v Pre - Power Combination

Oxfordian

Apologies if this has come up before but I could use some help with this please.

I have a Hegel H95 integrated amp and its fine in my system as it is but if I decide to upgrade sources then I am led to believe it could be a bottleneck for future system improvements.

Giving the matter some thought I wondered whether I would be better staying with a more powerful/better spec'd integrated amp or whether I should go for a Pre / Power Combination.

Now I am not looking for feedback on brands just on whether there is a benefit from going to a Pre/Power combination over an integrated, there are hundreds of great integrated amps out there and I am more than happy to stick with one if I upgrade at some point but I have no knowledge of pre/power combinations and whether there are benefits that I don't know of by going down this route.

I have noticed that some Pre/Power combinations can be had for around the same or maybe a touch less than the cost of an integrated amp that is a step up from my H95, now that may suggest that the Pre/Power combo is not up to the same standard of the integrated, if so why do they exist as it isn't logical to buy them or am I missing something?

Can anyone give me the inside knowledge on differences between Integrated and Pre/Power amps e.g. the pro's and con's on each please.

As stated, apologies if this has been covered before.

abacus

With integrated the higher the quality (Usually) the more powerful the amp, which if you have a small room and efficient speakers could be overkill. (And vice versa) so a separate pre/power maybe more cost effective, also if you change your speakers and/or move into a larger room then you only need to change the power amplifier.
If you are an avid upgrader then a pre/power is the way to go, but if you want to just sit back and listen to the music (With minimal upgrades over time) then stick with integrated.

Bill