How am I going to get over my 2011 Samsung D7000?

TheFauve

Nov 13, 2020
Visit site
Good morning everybody!
It is my first time on this forum as I need advice and I can't trust marketing material anymore, I hope you can help me.

I have a 2011 Samsung UE46D7000 that is now displaying vertical lines on the panel to the degree that I really suffer when watching movies. Fair enough, 9 years is a pretty good run for a TV!

I want to get a new TV and I'd like to do that now, taking advantage of Black Friday. But I'm lost.

My budget unfortunately is no more than 500£, and that's already a bit of a stretch for my pockets, especially in these times. Going second hand has brought me too many headaches in life, especially on stuff I don't know so well, like TVs.

You see, after analysing a lot of models and going into specs, I looked up some reviews of my current Samsung so that I could compare (I had bought that 2nd hand about 4 years ago for 280£.). I had no idea that used to be a high end model that got 5 stars reviews everywhere. Retail price was 1700£.

So my question is kind of simple: being almost 10 years after that model, will I be better off with a new 500£ TV, or will that old Samsung still be unbeatable by cheap-midrange TV in 2020?

I'll add a few considerations for whomever would like to help me.

1) I live in London, UK.
2) I Don't own a car so buying second hand collection only would be a bit of a problem.
3) I like watching films and I love cinema, so my only concern, really, is good picture "cinema-like" quality. For this reason I am oriented towards a 4k 55" TV.
4) I don't watch sports whatsoever
5) I play a bit of Xbox but I don't really care about input lag etc
6) I watch movies through Netflix or Amazon Prime, so that will need to be natively included, although I'm pretty sure they are on all TVs now.
7) I usually watch films in the evening in a dark room.