help with sony str-dg820

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
i have recently acquired a sony str-dg820, it works fine with my sony blu ray, plays in hd audio and all that good stuff, but i also have sky hd and is connected via a hdmi into the amp, however it will not show dolby digital or any of the other formats, it only outputs in linear pcm,whatever that is. I am new to all this home cinema stuff, so any help would be greatly appreciated in sorting out my issues.

cheers

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Hi there - welcome to the forums!

Your problem there is Sky HD has a restriction in place which means it only transfers the stereo soundtrack over HDMI as opposed to Dolby Digital 5.1. In order to get 5.1 sound from your Sky box, you need to also connect it up with either a digital optical (most likely) or a digital coaxial lead - this will depend on the manufacturer of Sky box but should be fairly clear from the connection at the back. Once you've done this and set your Sony amp to input sound from this connection, you should then get Dolby Digital 5.1 from the broadcasts which use it.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
As Prof LeChapeau says, but you also need to set the Sky+HD box to output Dolby Digital via optical, in the sound menu, and set the receiver to take the sound from the digital input, not HDMI, on whichever input you have the Sky box connected to.

When you say you 'acquired' the Sony, did you buy it new? If so, you should have new problems, but if you bought it used, not from an authorised Sony retailer or you are spectacularly unlucky, you may find the receiver won't let you set it to override the HDMI audio input and take sound from the digital connection instead.

This is a known foul-up with early 820s, and a call to Sony should point you in the direction of getting it fixed.