Help & suggestions required for a novice please!!

Lester Sound

May 30, 2014
Visit site
HiI am looking for some useful and helpful advice regarding Hi Fi Seperates please. I am new to this site and am a complete novice with regards to this equipment.I bought various seperates in the 1990's which have had only low use over-all. I love to play rock music mainly. My system comprises of the following old units:Rega Planar 2 turntable, Rotel RCD965BX CD player, Arcam Alpha 6 r/c Amplifier, Yamaha KX-480 Cassette Deck, JPW Sonata speakers (70W).Yes the equipment is quiet old!! My Arcam amp is now playing up. Turning the volume button does not work properly, the volume jumps from very low to extremely high - sometimes without even touching the dial and sometimes it is very "crackly" when you turn the dial.Firstly, i didn't know if my amp could be repaired?Secondly, can anyone suggest a good replacement if it can't be repaired. These days as a family man with mortgage etc i only have limited funds, but am missing my music!! Will a new amp have all the connectors on the back for my old equipment?Thirdly, another option i was considering...can i get an amp with Ipod dock and/or DAB tuner? Just thinking in case i get an Ipod one day soon! I appreciate all your comments. The independent store i originally went too has now gone and i don't know where to start other than to pop into a branch of Richer Sounds or something. Thanks in advance

Glacialpath

Apr 7, 2010
Visit site
Wow you are new. Just now new lol.

Welcome. Just a word of warning you'll get all sorts on here saying defferent things. Arguments may happen but not because of you. Threads tend to go astray from the original question.

Anyway I don't mean to put youo off. We are nice honest.