Help for a newbie, what should I look at?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
OK, where to start! I'm an absolute beginner to all this, so please go easy on any terminology! Any pointers anyone can provide would be very gratefully received. We're building an extension and want to have a plasma mounted on the wall above the fire. I know all the issues with regards to heat and viewing angle, and think we're ok there.

So I get my plans right, I want to consider all aspects. Because we're building the extension, we can't spend untold amounts!

1/ Which plasmas should I be looking at? (I take it I should be looking at plasmas not lcd's?)

2/ What do I need to consider when allowing for wires etc. We'd be building a false chimney breast.

3/ We were thinking of taking the (hidden) wires into a built in cupboard to house the sky hd etc but then theres an issue with the remote - any way round this, or does the box have to be on show?

4/ We currently have a cheap sony surround - what would be a better option?

5/ Is there anything else I need to be asking???

Thanks so much.

Big Aura

Oct 13, 2008
Visit site
I know your budget is limited, but I think the first question is "how limited"??

1/ Which plasmas should I be looking at? (I take it I should be looking at plasmas not lcd's?)

Plasmas are generally see as better, but they're heavier and use a lot more juice than an LCD. Personally I have a Sony LCD and it's excellent. What screen size are you contemplating (your room size and anticated distance from the screen will play a factor). In a very bright room, LCDs will tend to be a bit better. Main thing to realise is, that size isn't everything - and quality varies (in lock-step with the price, generally!). And each new model brings a leap forward in quality.

2/ What do I need to consider when allowing for wires etc. We'd be building a false chimney breast.