EAC and FLAC and WAV

mattjax05

Oct 5, 2007
Visit site
Hi

Im new to the EAC program and in general the music compressing game and would like some advise please.

I have a Windows laptop and I use EAC to rip my cd's in WAV form but would like to now rip them in the FLAC format. How can I do this?

Also, is this format any better than WMA Lossless or indeed any worse than WAV, I suppose it depends on the context in which you use the files (lets say for burning onto cd a using in my budget (but very competent) stereo system?

Thanks, Matt

A

Anonymous

You want the FLAC codec and frontend from http://flac.sourceforge.net/

You can drag and drop a selection of files from windows explorer to the UI frontend to convert them to the format - I don't really fuss about the default UI options other than the output directory, but see the 'help' info for command switches and all.

Plenty guides to using EAC and setting up to use external codecs floating around, some linked here - http://flac.sourceforge.net/documentation_tasks.html

Can recommend MP3Tag for batch file tagging, if it just will not work with FLAC or EAC.

Never noticed any loss of sound quality, and it's more widely supported by different media players than WMA - even will playback on certain home hifi/AV equipment, listed on the project website as they become aware of it.

pete321

Aug 20, 2008
Visit site
mattjax05:

Hi

Im new to the EAC program and in general the music compressing game and would like some advise please.

I have a Windows laptop and I use EAC to rip my cd's in WAV form but would like to now rip them in the FLAC format. How can I do this?

Also, is this format any better than WMA Lossless or indeed any worse than WAV, I suppose it depends on the context in which you use the files (lets say for burning onto cd a using in my budget (but very competent) stereo system?

Thanks, Matt