Dolby Digital or PCM audio?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I was playing bluray disc last night night and i noticed i had the options of having the audio in either Dolby Digital 48Khz or PCM 48Khz/16 bit. Which would give the best sound quality? I have the dvd player audio connected via multi channel out to the amp. any advice please?

FuzzyinLondon

Dec 5, 2007
Visit site
PCM without a doubt. Although you should listen for yourself to see if you notice a difference - this will depend somewhat on your set-up and speakers.

FuzzyinLondon

Dec 5, 2007
Visit site
Pulse Code Modulation. It's basically the form of sound that digital sound is decoded into to be outputted to the speakers. In the case of Blu-Ray, it is high-bit rate uncompressed audio that should be significantly better than the standard compressed Dolby Digital track.

A

Anonymous

i thought dolby digital was the best, because used in cinemas etc? and yes, im new to this before you ask

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Nope, PCM is uncompressed, Dolby Digital is highly compressed. It's like the difference between a CD imported as a WAV file and a 128 Kbps MP3 in computer audio terms - the WAV file will be much better quality than the MP3 as no lossy compression has occurred.

A

Anonymous

I did watch Batman Begins in PCM, then I Bitstreamed DD Dolby True Hd sound, It did sound a duller then the PCM. So whats the point of DD True HD then. Experts and reveiws say in Dolby True Hd you are listing to the sound track the same as the master recording and as the director intended. Somebody please explain

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site