Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hifi game with my first setup.

I have a Audiolab 8000a powering a pair of B&W dm601 S2's.

My music library is all stored on my Macbook Pro (late 2013) either in ALAC or FLAC.

How much would i benefit from adding a USB DAC to my set up, as the Macbook's onboard DAC chip is capable of outputting 24bit/192khz signal? Would there be a distiguishable difference between a USB DAC and a (decent) 3.5mm to RCA interconnect?

From my initial research most DACs ive looked at have the same sample rate/bit depths as the Macbook. Is there anyone out there who perhaps has had this situation? Maybe its a matter of how the DAC converts the audio, perhaps being warmer, punchier, louder, more vibrant etc...

Any advice anyone can give would be great.

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
IMO you shouldn't be looking at DAC chip capabilities. The potential bottleneck can be the analogue output gain stage on your laptop. If you plan to invest in a separate DAC look for one with its own power supply and output of at least 2Vrms unbalanced (4Vrms balanced).

*bye*

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
harry joyce said:
Maybe its a matter of how the DAC converts the audio, perhaps being warmer, punchier, louder, more vibrant etc...

Yep that just about covers it. But don't expect jaw-dropping night-n-day differences. The quality of Mac DACs are above average for computers to start with, and compared to changing speakers (for example) the difference will be subtle. Don't take that to mean you'd be wasting your money, I'm just trying to reel-in your expectations.

mightyquin

Jan 7, 2014
Visit site
MajorFubar said:
harry joyce said:
Maybe its a matter of how the DAC converts the audio, perhaps being warmer, punchier, louder, more vibrant etc...