Choosing a used phono preamp on a budget

ThreeTuns

Oct 29, 2022
Visit site
Hi I'm a newbie to the forum!

I'm building a basic turntable system for my daughter to replace her briefcase all in one player. Mostly shopping on ebay, gum tree etc and what I have stored in the shed!!

I have an elderly Pro-Ject Debut 3 with new power supply and mat, a Cambridge A5 and a pair of Wharfedale Diamond Pro's (first generation). On wiring it all up I was surprised to find that the A5 did not have phono sockets or a preamp (as mine does downstairs).

What should I look out for on the second hand market?

Should also perhaps consider a replacement stylus, currently an Ortofon OMB 5E.

Rob

Welcome to the forum.
If it's quite old I would replace the stylus at the very least, if not the cartridge itself.
Depends on your total budget really when it comes to phono preamp.
if you want it to match sort of you could look for a second-hand Cambridge 540P phono preamp on eBay or the like.

Reactions: ThreeTuns

ThreeTuns

Oct 29, 2022
Visit site
I don't really want to replace the A5 having only just bought it! I'll keep an eye out on ebay for a preamp. Can get generic ones new on amazon for £25 but I'm not sure whether to go for one of those and spend the rest on a new stylus. I'm trying to assemble something as cheaply as possible - the Debut 3 was £80 from a charity shop on ebay and the A5 £40 and I already had the Wharfedales from 20 years ago.

New cartridge vs stylus - OMB 5E - it's so confusing!! (My RP3 still has original stylus from 17 years ago!). For around £50 I could either get a new 10E stylus or 5E cartridge or going up reluctantly to £75 could get a super 5E cartridge.