BI-WIRE/AMP NEWBIE

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Recently purchased the following, exposure 2010s amp + cd, rega P3/24 with exact cartridge, creek obh-15 and neat motive 2s. So far I am using regular chord carnival silverscreen speaker cable, after reading a lot about bi-wire/amping my first question would be is bi-wiring a real step forward? and if so do i need to use specific "bi-wire" cable or can i just by another pair of regular cables?

I intend to eventually bi-amp when i see a reasonable 2010s power amp, would i need more cable for this or would 4 lengths be enough? Apologies if this is a simple question but i'm just starting out so please be gentle!

A

Anonymous

Whether to bi-wire or just buy single lengths of better (i.e. more expensive) speaker cable and single wire is one of those debates like whether you should warm the pot or not or put the milk in before the tea or not.

What I would say is that if your speakers are designed for bi-wiring then it's likely the nasty brass jumpers across the speaker terminals won't do anything good for the sound, and that the manufacturer of the speaker clearly intended the speakers to be bi-wired. Case in point: my recently acquired ProAc Studio 140s retail at around 1500 quid and came with jumpers that probably cost 99p a set. Your local hifi shoppe can make up jumper cables in decent speaker cable as a stop-gap, but if you're planning on bi-amping eventually I'd bite the bullet and bi-wire from the get-go.

To bi-wire you do this.

Run one dual-channel cable (or one pair of single channel cables) to the bass and a separate cable or pair of cables to the treble terminals on the back of each speaker.