best bass cd player?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm looking to upgrade my cdp, i know Plinius cdp would be a good match(to my Plinius intergrated), but 3k is too much for me. I'd like to improve the bass reproduction, my preference would be deep and tight bass, with realistic soundstage and organic timbre. My budget is around 2k, i don't mind 2nd hand equipment.

Here's my shortlist:

Roksan caspian m-1 series

Ayre cx7e

Bryston bcd1

Sony SCD 5400XAE

cheers

andy

A

Anonymous

Hi, I don't mean to hijack (I have no experience of the cd players you are talking about) but how do you rate the Havana? I am seriously considering one of these as a replacement for an Arcam CD192 and would love to hear from an actual owner (owners are thin on the ground). (To be paired with equipment in my signature)

I'm sure someone with experience will be along to advise you regarding the CD players soon enough.

Best regards, Lee

A

Anonymous

With that list I would have suggested you buy my Ayre C5xeMP - but I just sold it ........ oh well!

My Ayre had good bass, so the 7 may well follow suit .....

RCduck7

Aug 18, 2007
Visit site
I would add an other not well known to that list if it was me.

Try to audition one of the tubed MHZS players, i had one for audition at home and bought one when i heard it. It sounded simply better and muscular bass, a lot like you describe in the sound your after. I compared it to my Xindak DAC-8, and that one was allready better in some area's compared to my modded DacMagic. This view reflects of coursse my experience and from many other but every system and ears of the person are different, so audtioning is advised at any time of coursse. Prices start low on the MHZS players and they are built like a tank. A cheap easy modification can make them sound even better. One of the best kept secrets for price, quality and performance but google can be your friend.
emotion-5.gif

MattSPL

Jan 4, 2010
Visit site