Arcam 10P mono?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi guys, I'm a newbie on the block and realising the benifits of a decent hifi set up.
Set up - I have Arcam CD37 CD player, Arcam FMJ A32 intigrated amp, Arcam Alpha 10P power amp. Monitor audio GX300 speakers.
Currently sey set up with the A32 to the speaker HF and the 10P to the LF.
Question - I wanted more power for the GX300's so should I buy another 10P and then fit the mono link on each one and use one 10P per speaker, then use the A32 as a pre-amp only?
Would this increase the power output from the 10p's (ie more than the rated 100W).
Is there a better way of doing it with the Arcam?
I was concidering buying a Arcam P38 but from what I read I probably won't gain or notice much difference over the 10P.
Any thoughts or experience out there?

Cheers,

A

Anonymous

As per the Alpha 10P manual:

"MONO LINK - The Alpha 10P can be configured to provide two mono loudspeaker outputs from a single input. Using the U-link 0 supplied, connect the LINK OUT sockets together. Utilising one Alpha 10P per loudspeaker in this manner will allow bi-amplifying of bi-wireable loudspeakers. This is particularly beneficial for top quality stereo installations with a separate pre-amplifier"

I'd say you're on the right tracks!

The 10P is still a superb power amp with around 105wpc and in mono (with 2 of them of course) I'm sure the GX300's would sing!

I always wanted to try the 10P's as mono's (Had the Alpha 10 and 10P myself with some MA RX6's) and it made for a mega powerful but very well controlled sound indeed; always regretted selling those amps!

The FMJ A32 is also stilla stunning amp and still fetches great money on eBay & the likes; have you thought about selling that up and going for a dedicated pre such as the C31 etc...?

eggontoast

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site