Any recommendations for a 2.1 Hi-Fi system around £200 for a newbie?

JoeMcc

Dec 18, 2013
Visit site
Guys im completely new to the audio world and after my old cd player from 10 years ago died im deciding to uprgrade and start fresh.

I mostly listen to music these days digitally, on my computer and from my phone so I decided on getting something to hookup to my laptop or phone.

Problem is i didnt realise how much there is to choose from, I was considering 2.1 PC multimedia system but after much research have found out these systems are not great at all and i should get a proper set of bookshelf speakers with amp and sub etc...

This is where things got confusing for me lol. All this talk about a DAC/Soundcards different kind of amps speakers and stuff wow...Overwhelmed! I wasnt hoping to spend more than £200 but this seems not even entry level, is there such system i could build within this price range??

Also would it be compatible with my laptop? Im guessing id just hve to get a 3.55 to RCA adapter to connect pc to amp? (sorry if this is really stupid)

I mostly listen to Electronic music and Hip-hop, but the odd bit of metal and indie rock here and there...

Hope someone can clear a few things up for me - would be greatly appreciated :help:

steve_1979

Jul 14, 2010
Visit site
The Corsair SP2500 is an excellent 2.1 system for £180.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=corsair%202.1&sprefix=corsair+2.1%2Caps&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Acorsair%202.1

But considering your budget it may be worth looking at a more conventional 2.0 system aswell. StudioSpares active speakers with the amplifiers built into them are very good for the money.

knaithrover

Nov 24, 2013
Visit site