Amplifier warm-up

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

GeoffreyW

Sep 17, 2005
Visit site
I assume that the flow of electricity is a physical thing, which in some circumstances can generate heat, so it is similar to car engines or other mechanical systems, which reach an optimum operating temperature.
So I try to give my components time to warm up, which seems to work with my speakers.

BiggaJ

Oct 29, 2019
Visit site
If I was demonstrating Hifi for a living I’d definitely put it on 20-30 minutes before listening if I could.

My power amp is solid-state Class A and the manual says it takes up to an hour to fully warm up, and sounds better as a result. My class D integrated amp is silent on this, but I think it’s better after about twenty minutes. YMMV!
Interesting, my class D Gato Audio 250S-NPM seems to get a little better after maybe 20-30 mins of use. This could be subjective however, I was going to ask if class D is different in this respect to class A and others ... anyone know?

Reactions: nopiano

Gray

I could see my breath in the room this afternoon - system sounded great (never better) from the first seconds.

I believe in the need for solid state electronics to warm up about as much as I believe they need to be 'burned in'.

I could see my breath in the room this afternoon - system sounded great (never better) from the first seconds.

I believe in the need for solid state electronics to warm up about as much as I believe they need to be 'burned in'.
Agree about those amplifiers, not sure about cables as all but one of mine are second-hand so assume they have already been burnt -in.... :)

Reactions: WayneKerr

Oxfordian

The quote below is taken from the manual of my H95, this would suggest that even the guys who make the stuff believe that allowing their kit a short warm up period can help your listening experience.