Who can hear the difference anyway?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have been into Hi Fi for over 20 years and still can't articulate the true meaning of Hi Fi.

In the past I have listened, and if I can "hear" a difference I would pay more, if I couldn't then I didn't!

However there is always that devil on your shoulder saying " the more you spend the better the sound", thing is what's better?

In reviews they use words like, insight and talent, natural warmth and solidity, soft bass notes etc. Now I am not a musician, but do you need to be to appreciate good hi fi?

When I listen to different systems I can sometimes only "just" hear a slight difference and can't always explain what it is.

I describe it as cleaner, less transparant and crisper etc, but who's to say its better?

What I am really getting round to saying is, are there only a few who can really appreciate the art of Hi Fi, I guess its like art you need to know what you are looking for, in this case listening for.

Sorry if any spelling mistakes.

Ian

aliEnRIK

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
I wouldnt say my hearings particularly special. But I can easily tell differences in quality

(Even when we tested cd players ranging from 3.5k to 10k)

idc

IDB:

I have been into Hi Fi for over 20 years and still can't articulate the true meaning of Hi Fi.

I take it to be the accurate reproduction of sound. So if I hear a system that makes it sound like I am in the studio with the musicians and I can heard the guitar being strummed and the cymbol struck very clearly, then I say it is hifi.

IDB:

In reviews they use words like, insight and talent, natural warmth and solidity, soft bass notes etc. Now I am not a musician, but do you need to be to appreciate good hi fi?

The more systems you hear the easier it is to understand the descriptions of sound. It possibly helps to be a musician, but what you do need is an appreciation of musicianship and songwriting skills.

IDB: