whats got the best picture-freesat hd or freeview hd

rock15

Aug 7, 2010
Visit site
Hi everyone ,i am new to this and wondered if anyone had any veiws on whether the freeveiw hd pvr by humax would be better than the freesat tuner on my panasonic tv which gives a good picture, as at present i dont have a tv aerial , but i would get one put in if freeveiw hd is better than freesat , or should i go for the humax freesat pvr and are there likely to be more hd channels coming to either of these formats thanks
smiley-undecided.gif

daveh75

Freesat HD PQ is slightly better than Freeview HDs. C4 HD will be added to Freesat's EPG in april, and doesn't have the bandwidth/capacity limitations of Freeview so has potential for more HD channels in the future. Freeview is supposedly getting a fifth HD channel 'before 2013' but 5 HD channels will be Freeveiw's maximum due to it's limited bandwidth.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
We've certainly found the Freesat HD tuners slightly better than their Freeview HD counterparts on sets that include both - like the Panasonics.

If you've got a dish and in-built Freesat HD, it seems the obvious option right now. And Dave is, of course, spot on re the future potential.

rock15

Aug 7, 2010
Visit site
hi thanks for your replys ,the freesat tuner on the panasonic 46 g15 has a great picture, and i am happy with the tv, but i am going to get a pvr and suppose a humax freesat hdr is going to be better than the humax freeveiw t2 pvr with more hd channels and i already have a dish what do you think thanks ian

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
The Humax kit is great.

How's your Blu-ray situation? Another option to consider is one of Panasonic's Blu-ray recorder/Freesat PVR combos, which cost from @£450. Worth thinking about if you want to cut down on boxes (and remote controls!)

Alec

Oct 8, 2007
Visit site
Clare Newsome said:
The Humax kit is great.