What accessories have you bought that you believe have really improved the sound of your system?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.
A

Anonymous

My most impressive tweak was by chance. The Auralex Gramma platform (less than £40) is really for guitar amps (I am a guitarist) and prevents them from interacting with the floor e.g. a wooden stage.

I tried one under my sub-woofer (REL Strata II). WoW! Bass went further down, far less boom and bass notes were distinguishable as notes and music!!

For example, I watched the Matrix 2 chase on the Freeway and suddenly heard an electronic bass playing away quielty below the dialogue.

This stand is made using high density foam and carpeted MDF. I did not realise how much my room was contributing and muddying the sound of my system.

I have a huge number of other tweaks - expensive cabling/mains/cones/spikes/chopping boards/squash balls/shorties/fuses/acrylic supports etc. but this is number one by a mile.

You can buy them here in the UK (US company). They make a SubDude version (more for subwoofers) and they are very effective for anyone who has a wooden/ suspended floor and for appeasing the neighbours!!

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
Granite chpping board from tesco (under cd player on glass hifi rack).

Wooden Chopping board (butcher block, 7 inches thick) for amps/cd player case that ring like Musical Fidelity A308, A5 etc...

Spirit level

Warm olive oil to clean my ears!

A

Anonymous

No question here for me. The matching speakers stands from B&W for my 805s speakers. I was surprised by the difference they made.

A

Anonymous

Belkin Surgemaster 2.5m version - £25 (Gave massive improvements to the sound and reduced noise floor.)

Atlas Equator Mk.II instead of QED Qunex I - £60 (Clarity of sound improved, better soundstage, more detail, less harshness.)