Upgrade Cyrus amp or something new

PhilRis

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
Hi,

I’m still a bit of a novice and could do with some advice. I'm currently running a Cyrus 6 DAC along with a set of B&W 685s2. I used to run KEFs but they sounded too thin and lean in places. I’m pretty happy with this set up, I’ve got the detail and warmth, more or less. It still doesn’t make me want to tap my foot, so I’m tempted to look at Naim going forward. The Cyrus offers me a really good compromise; an amp and built in DAC, which seems great. I play lots of records and CDs.

The question is do I spend £400 and upgrade it from 2 x 40 watts to an 8 DAC to 2 x 70 watts. I don’t necessarily play my music so loud, but what other benefits should I hear through upgrading? Greater clarity? foot tapping?:)

Thoughts and advice would be appreciated as always.

Thanks

Phil

Mike_Schmidt

Feb 24, 2008
Visit site
I havent found this site helpful with my cyrus questions go to cyrus unofficial for help there. For me personally I found at my first start that the 6 was lacking in power compared to the 8 and it would be a big upgrade difference. I would do it

Ketan Bharadia

Jun 7, 2007
Visit site
I'd get the 6 amp upgraded to the 8. The sound gains in dynamics and scale, even at lower voume levels. It also opens up a PSX-R outboard power supply upgrade in the future.

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
+1 Mike and Ketan

However, I have to say I never found cyrus lacking in the rythm and 'foot tapping' department.

Still, Naim is certainly an option and may give you the sound you desire.

Audition one.

Then there is Rega with their Brio-R and Elex-R, both reputedly energetic in performance ... etc.

BigH

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site